Academy inducts new teaching award winners

2020-21 faculty teaching award winners were introduced to the Academy of Teaching Friday, Sept. 26, during its annual fall breakfast at the Blackwell Inn and Conference Center. 

The Academy comprises winners of the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching and Provost’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Lecturer. All told, 34 faculty were inducted to the Academy in 2020 and 2021.

This year, the fall breakfast program was led by new Chair of the Academy Executive Committee, Elena Foulis who welcomed members of the Academy and introduced those inducted in academic years 2019-20 and 2020-21. 

Helen Malone, vice provost for academic policy and faculty resources, spoke to members on the teaching mission of Ohio State under our new leadership and inclusive excellence in the classroom as a model for education equity.  

Malone reminded the Academy that their work is often life changing for students. Malone also noted that teaching is also part of the research enterprise growth of Ohio State.

Malone also highlighted the work she and Institute for Teaching and Learning Director Kay Halasek are undertaking with a university-level committee to examine how teaching is evaluated and recognized. “We asked them to really challenge the assumptions” about teaching. The committee will return recommendations with the goal of “helping faculty do what they do best.” 

“I am humbled and inspired by everything you do every day,” Malone said.

The morning culminated in “table talk” sessions during which small groups shared perspectives on the teaching and learning topics.

For more information about annual awards that recognize faculty work in the classroom or to nominate a colleague for the award, visit the OAA webpage.  

Award winners inducted into the Academy of Teaching at its fall breakfast include (pictured from left to right): Emma Kindall, lecturer, Art; Lanier Holt, associate professor, School of Communication; Megan LePere-Schloop, assistant professor, Glen College of Public Affairs; Eugene Folden, associate professor-clinical, Human Sciences; Mary Pohlschneider, senior lecturer, Food Science and Technology; Alexandra Suer, senior lecturer, Human Sciences; Rosalee Meyer, lecturer, Psychology; Rebecca Dupaix, professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; and Caryn Filson, assistant professor of professional practice, Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership. (Not pictured, Olwyn Conway, associate professor-clinical, College of Law, and Steven Salopek, senior lecturer, Fisher College of Business.)